Music Mashups = Cover Fever

December 3, 2006

OK, a little complicated but bear with me because this will be so worth your time if you’re into bizarre cover songs. If not, flip on ever to iTunes and buy some shit or something.

Kotog has awakened me to the oftentimes sketchy but always worth a look blog Copy, Right?, which is wielded by a woman who apparently scours the underbelly of the web for strange covers of mostly strange songs. (And in a frightening note, she says that complete strangers send her these things, too.) I won’t link to the downloads – one reason being there are too many and another is that her notes on the songs are as good as the music.

Yum!Yum!ORANGE “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” (Bobby McFerrin cover)
I honestly never thought I’d post a cover if this, one of my most-hated songs EVER, but dammit if those Japanese ska bands don’t charm my socks right off everytime.

Little Shepherd “Beate Ausem Block (Jenny from the Block)” (J.Lo cover)
Wow. This is like a terrible car crash from which I inexplicably can’t turn away.

Without these tidbits, I could not in good consciense provide a trusting reader with a Bobby McFerrin download. Free or even if they paid you to download it.

Visit Copy, Right?. Hurry. The songs sometimes have short shelf lives and you’re not going to find this kind of aural stimulation just anywhere. Don’t tell your mom I sent you.

Leave a Reply

